Francescan friars got the land in 1250 by doge Jacopo Tiepolo
and immediately built a little church with an opposite orientation
compare to the modern one. Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari, as
appears nowadays, dates back to the middle of fourteenth century
and got its model from SS. Giovanni e Paolo Church, that is in
San Marco's Sestiere.
On the main altar is L'Assunta by Tiziano, on Pesaro altar
is Martirio di Santa Caterina by Jacopo Palma il Giovane;
while Pesaro Chapel keeps La Vergine col bimbo, putti musicanti
e santi by Giovanni Bellini (1488).
Moreover Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari keeps unique sculptures
as wooden San Giovanni Battista by Donatello, monuments
of Jacopo Marcello and Beato Pacifico.